Elizabeth S. May Named Acting President

Dr. Elizabeth Stoffregen May, Dean of the College, was named acting president upon Dr. Meneely‘s unexpected death in 1961. During Meneely’s final year as president, much of the administration of the college fell to May.

In 1962, May was awarded an honorary degree.

Prior to serving as acting president, May accomplished a great deal as Dean of the College. In 1955, she developed a plan to increase Wheaton’s enrollment by 250 students. May’s initiative combined with another vote by the trustees several years later to increase enrollment from 525 to 800 to 1000 students. This growth allowed Wheaton to expand and improve its curriculum, faculty and buildings.

Dr. May served as acting president until 1962, when Meneely’s successor was found in William C.H. Prentice.

After 13 years at Wheaton, May was named by the Johnson Administration to serve on the board of directors of the Export-Import Bank of the United States, the first woman ever appointed to do so.

The Faculty Lounge in Mary Lyon Hall was named for Elizabeth S. May.